The Bahamas is comprised of over 700 islands spread across roughly 2.6 thousand square kilometers of ocean northeast of Cuba and southeast of Florida.1
Christopher Columbus first landed in the Bahamas, on the island of San Salvador. Due to enslavement, disease, and conflict, the 40,000-strong indigenous population was wiped out within 25 years.2
The British first settled the Bahamas in 1649. Despite intermittent battles with the Spanish and pirates, the Bahamas remained a profitable British colony until 1973, when the islands became a free and sovereign member of the Commonwealth.3
Mentions of this place in the documents
The Colonial Despatches Team. Bahamas. The Colonial Despatches of Vancouver Island and British Columbia 1846-1871, Edition 2.2, ed. The Colonial Despatches Team. Victoria, B.C.: University of Victoria.

Last modified: 2020-12-02 13:40:34 -0800 (Wed, 02 Dec 2020) (SVN revision: 5008)