Newfoundland, today known as Newfoundland and Labrador, is a province in eastern Canada, nearly half of which is a large island.
John Cabot's 1497 exploration of the area allowed for the development of Newfoundland as a European fishery during the 1500s.1 Newfoundland was England's first permanent colony in the “New World”, and it became the tenth province, in 1949, to enter the Canadian Confederation.2
Mentions of this place in the documents
The Colonial Despatches Team. Newfoundland. The Colonial Despatches of Vancouver Island and British Columbia 1846-1871, Edition 2.2, ed. The Colonial Despatches Team. Victoria, B.C.: University of Victoria.

Last modified: 2020-12-02 13:40:34 -0800 (Wed, 02 Dec 2020) (SVN revision: 5008)