Russian Territory
In the Colonial Despatches, Russian Territory refers to the lands owned and worked by Russia on the North American continent—roughly, the lands covered by present-day Alaska.
Perhaps most relevant to the years covered by the Colonial Despatches are the treaties between Russia, the United States, and Britain in 1824 and 1825, which fixed Russia's southernmost border on the continent at 54° 40'; this line became the northern boundary of British settlements, and later, the divide between British Columbia and the State of Alaska.1
Mentions of this place in the documents
Places in this document

British Columbia