Turks and Caicos Islands
The Turks and Caicos Islands are a group of roughly 50 islands in the Caribbean. They were incorporated into the Bahamas in 1799, and were under Jamaican rule from 1859 to 1959, until the latter gained independence, and the Federation of the West Indies dissolved—the Turks and Caicos became a British Overseas Territory in 1962, though they are a self-governing territory with respect to domestic affairs.1
  • 1. Travancore, Oxford Reference Online: A Dictionary of Contemporary World History.
Mentions of this place in the documents