Yukon Territory, or The Yukon, is Canada's northwestern-most territory and became so in 1898.1 Its northern border looks to the Arctic Ocean, its eastern to Northwest Territory, its southern to British Columbia, and most of its western border runs along the US state of Alaska.
This resource-rich territory has fed both fur and mineral trades, particularly during the Yukon gold rush of the late 1800s; it draws its name from the Yukon River, whose drainages dominate much of the Yukon region.2
  • 1. William C. Wonders, Yukon, The Canadian Encyclopedia.
  • 2. Ibid.
Mentions of this place in the documents