New Brunswick
New Brunswick is one of three provinces in eastern Canada that comprise the Maritimes, along with Nova Scotia and Prince Edward Island. In 1784, the British split what was Nova Scotia in two, naming the north and west portion New Brunswick, after the German duchy of Brunswick-Lunenburg, ruled by King George III of England at the time.1
New Brunswick was one of the four original provinces and, arguably, a swing province in the push for confederation.2
The first settlers to the area known now as New Brunswick were the Micmac, who had communities across the Maritimes. The Micmac had established European trade in the region as far back as the 16th century .3
  • 1. Ernest R. Forbes, New Brunswick, The Canadian Encyclopedia.
  • 2. Ibid.
  • 3. Ibid.
Mentions of this place in the documents
Places in this document

Nova Scotia

Prince Edward Island