Québec is an eastern province of Canada, and it makes-up nearly one-sixth of Canada's total landmass. The name Québec originates from the Algonquian word meaning where the river narrows.1
Québec was settled by the French in the early 1600s, but the area was lost to the British in the 1754-1763 French and Indian War.2 In 1867, Québec joined the Dominion of Canada.3 However, the struggle for authority over the province between the French and British continued.4
  • 1. Claude Couture, Québec, The Canadian Encyclopedia.
  • 2. Ibid.
  • 3. Ibid.
  • 4. Ibid.
Mentions of this place in the documents
The Colonial Despatches Team. Quebec. The Colonial Despatches of Vancouver Island and British Columbia 1846-1871, Edition 2.2, ed. The Colonial Despatches Team. Victoria, B.C.: University of Victoria.

Last modified: 2020-12-02 13:40:34 -0800 (Wed, 02 Dec 2020) (SVN revision: 5008)