The Rocky Mountains
The Rocky Mountains, or The Rockies, are part of North America's Continental Divide, which separates the Pacific, Arctic and Atlantic basins; they run 4800 km from Alaska to northern Mexico, and for a number of large rivers the Rockies act as either drainage or as a source, including the Yukon, Columbia and Fraser.1
The British Columbia section of the Rockies cover a length of roughly 1200 km, from just shy of the Yukon border in the north, to the Canada-Montana state border to the south.2
Mentions of this place in the documents
The Colonial Despatches Team. The Rocky Mountains. The Colonial Despatches of Vancouver Island and British Columbia 1846-1871, Edition 2.2, ed. The Colonial Despatches Team. Victoria, B.C.: University of Victoria.

Last modified: 2020-12-02 13:40:34 -0800 (Wed, 02 Dec 2020) (SVN revision: 5008)